Bright stems and moonlight glitter

Leave a comment
Entertaining
By day

By day

As I was doing my usual Saturday morning domestic duties yesterday, I thought of something worth sharing.

I love flowers and I normally buy a nice bunch of flowers for the house every week. This week it was sunflowers. Unfortunately, yesterday the flowers were looking more hungover than me and so sadly it was time to say goodbye.

The problem with bunches of flowers is that once the main flowers and foilage start to look dead, the whole bunch usually has to go. Otherwise, there would be a few solitary stems hanging rather sparsely around the vase and that would just look pitiful.

However, I recently bought a recycled glass candle set which included a mini-vase. This is perfect for those leftover stems and creates a small neat blast of colour for any table, countertop, mantlepiece or windowsill. So think of alternative ways to use those leftover flowers. You can find vases in all shapes and forms. Anything works when it helps add some colour.

By night

By night

As for the candles, at night, the recycled glass provides lovely flecks of light which I just love. This adds to the atmosphere and makes the whole area glitter. My kind of candle light!

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

