The only way is the millionaire way

Leave a comment
Sweet delights

IMG_4584

My boyfriend announced last night that he had never tasted mars bar cake. I felt nothing other than utter shock. In fact, I was horrified, not only because I have been making mars bar cake with my Mum since the age of 3 but also because it is my treat of choice from Peckhams where I was a relatively frequent visitor. So while he is working away overnight I am surprising him with my ultra tasty version of mars bar cake. This isn’t for the faint hearted. One small bite provides enough calories for an expedition to the North Pole but it is so tasty you will want to jump in for more.

MILLIONAIRE’S MARS BAR CAKE

IMG_4588

Ingredients:

Mars bar cake base:
3 Mars Bars
2 tbsp golden syrup
85g butter
Rice Krispies

Caramel:
1 tin of condensed milk (379g)
100g golden syrup
150g butter

200g milk chocolate

IMG_4515

IMG_4518

IMG_4525

For the base:

  • Line a baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  • Chop the mars bar and melt over a low heat with the butter and golden syrup. It will take a good 5 – 10 minutes to transform into a smooth glossy mixture. You don’t need to stir it continually but do keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn.
  • Transfer the mars bar mixture to a larger bowl using a spatula to make sure you get every last bit or if you have used a big enough pot then you can add the rice kris pies straight into the pot. Don’t be deceived. The mixture will take a lot of rice krispies and to make sure it is properly mixed you need a lot of space so choose a decent sized bowl.
  • Then add the rice krispies. It is hard to say how much you will need. Just keep adding until the rice krispies are coated with the mars bar mixture. I used 4 cups for the above measurements.
  • Transfer the coated rice krispies to the lined baking tray and press to the edges.  The rice krispies tend to stick to a spoon or knife so I find it best to get a piece of cling film and place it over the top of the rice krispie mix and then gently press down to compress the rice krispies until they are evenly spread. The rice krispies base should due about 0.5 inches thick.
  • Then place it in the fridge to cool.

IMG_4527

IMG_4529

IMG_4561

IMG_4570

IMG_4571

For the caramel:

  • Put the condensed milk, golden syrup and butter in a pot.
  • Heat over a low heat. The butter and syrup will melt leaving a light yellow runny mixture. Keep the mixture on a low heat until it thickens, stirring continuously. Do not let the mixture boil or else it will become lumpy or will burn. It will take about 30 minutes to become a thick caramel. It may seem a bit laborious to have to keep stirring it but it is the only way to keep the caramel smooth and prevent it burning.
  • Then pour on to the mars bar cake base. It should spread out quite freely and then use a spatula or knife to spread right to the edges.
  • Return to the fridge to cool.

IMG_4578

IMG_4579

To finish:

  • Melt the chocolate and pour on top. Leave to set.
  • For a little extra glitz (regardless of the fact that I have made this for my boyfriend and he is not one for glitz), I have sprinkled on some gold glitter flakes. Then cut into pieces (you can decide the size) and serve.

IMG_4596

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

