Unexpected bright breakfast

Leave a comment
Breakfasts

IMG_4850

I wasn’t planning to do a post about breakfast but this one turned out to be quite nice this morning and quick to make so I thought I would share it. I made it with some leftover ingredients I had after I made meatballs last night (I will share that recipe later).

SOFT POACHED EGGS WITH SPINACH AND TOMATO SALSA

Ingredients (for two):

4 eggs
1/2 tin chopped tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato puree
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp chilli powder (or to taste)
2 tbsp water
1/2 tsp fresh coriander
2 handfuls spinach

  • Add the chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, paprika, chilli powder, water and some seasoning to a small saucepan and allow to simmer over a low heat for 3 minutes. If the tomatoes taste a little bitter, add a pinch of caster sugar.
  • In the meantime, poach the eggs. For details on poaching eggs, follow the “In the Kitchen” link above.
  • Add the spinach to the tomato salsa and allow to wilt.
  • Finally, add the coriander. Check the seasoning again and adjust to taste.

IMG_4815

IMG_4826

To serve:

  • Spoon the spinach and tomato salsa on the bottom of the plate.
  • Drain the eggs and pat off any excess water with some kitchen roll being careful not to burst the egg yolks. Place the eggs on top of the salsa.
  • Finish with a sprinkle of maldon salt and coarsely ground black pepper.
  • Serve with some chunky wholemeal bread to mop up the sauce.

A healthy and colourful start to a Saturday.

IMG_4852

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

