Marbled peppermint slice

Leave a comment
Sweet delights

IMG_5284

This is a recipe from my grandmother, Granny Wallace. She was an exceptional baker because she was a perfectionist. Visiting Granny Wallace was always even more of a delight because we knew we would be presented with a selection of cakes. This was always my Dad’s cake of choice and we certainly got a choice each and every time we visited.

Even though you can have this all year round, I find it rather festive. Maybe it is just because the peppermint reminds me of peppermint lattes which I used to get from Starbucks in their seasonal red cups in the run up to Christmas. Whatever the reason, I’m adding it to my festive repertoire and I’m sure Granny Wallace would be delighted.

I have decided to go for a marbled effect with the decor but you can easily just top with chocolate and green sprinkles or a white chocolate drizzle.

MARBLED PEPPERMINT SLICE

Ingredients:

115g unsalted butter
1 dsp cocoa
Pinch of salt
1 cup self raising flour
4 handfuls crushed cornflakes
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 cups icing sugar
water
1/2 tsp peppermint essence
Green food colouring (optional)
150g dark chocolate
50g white chocolate

IMG_5256

For the base:

  • Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celsius.
  • Melt the butter and then add the salt, cocoa, sugar and flour. Mix together.
  • Next add the crushed cornflakes and mix well.
  • Press the cornflake mix into a baking tin and cook for 15 minutes in the oven.
  • Take the base out of the oven and leave to cool. You will need to make sure the base is completely cool or else the peppermint icing will melt off.

IMG_5257

For the peppermint layer:

  • Make a stiff icing with the icing sugar and a little water.
  • Add the peppermint essence. Taste to check there is enough flavour and if not, add a little more.
  • Then add a little green food colouring. You don’t need to do this but I like seeing the bright green icing peeping through the side of each slice.
  • Pour on top of the base and smooth to make sure it is evenly spread.
  • Place in the fridge to cool and harden.

IMG_5260

IMG_5264

Topping:

  • Melt the dark chocolate and white chocolate in separate bowls.
  • Pour the dark chocolate on top of the icing and again smooth out to make sure it is even.
  • Dot little drops of the white chocolate on top of the dark chocolate. Then swirl the white chocolate with a metal skewer for a marbled effect.
  • I have also added a little green food colouring to some of the white chocolate and dotted it on in the same way to make green swirls as well. This just adds a little bit of extra colour.
  • Chill in the fridge until the chocolate has set.

To serve:

  • Take out of the fridge and cut into slices to serve.

This brings back some wonderful memories. If only my Dad was here to share a piece. I will have to make him some when I am home for Christmas.

IMG_5286

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

