New Year’s Day brunch

Leave a comment
Breakfasts

DSC_0293

Happy New Year!

This brunch was much needed to ease the Hogmanay hangover and when I say brunch, it was essentially a late afternoon lunch by the time I managed to get out of bed.

I have never made hollandaise sauce before. I planned to make it on Christmas day but got too caught up with my presents. There are a number of recipes around for hollandaise sauce. I picked the first one I found as zero effort was a necessity today and when I saw the words “dead good”, I knew it was a go-er.

The recipe is available here http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3921/dead-good-hollandaise- . The hollandaise was in fact dead good. The recipe calls for half a lemon. I found that this made it quite citrusy which was fine against the smoked salmon but would probably be a little too over powering with a traditional eggs benedict so I would go easy on the lemon juice and taste as you go. I like the hollandaise sauce to be quite runny so I added a splash of water to the sauce to get the desired consistency.

ALASKAN EGGS BENEDICT

DSC_0282

DSC_0284

This was basically an assembly job once the sauce was made.

  • Toast the muffin.
  • Top with a few spinach leaves.
  • Place the poached eggs on top and then a pile of smoked salmon.
  • Drizzle over the hollandaise sauce.
  • Sprinkle with a pinch of pepper.

If only every day in 2014 started with this breakfast!

DSC_0288

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

