Canapé array

comments 2
Entertaining

DSC_0334
I know the festive season is now over and the thought of eating, drinking and attending parties is far from anyone’s minds but I wanted to share these quick and easy crostini canapés in case there are any post-Christmas celebrations or nights in with friends have been arranged to help pave the long way to pay day.

I haven’t put weights and measurements below so you can make as few or as many as you want. Be warned though – it doesn’t take long for these little mouthfuls to disappear (and that’s before they’ve even been served).

CROSTINI WITH CREAM CHEESE AND RED GRAPES

DSC_0344

Ingredients:

Crostini (either shop bought or make by slicing a baguette and baking the pieces in the oven until they are crisp)
Cream cheese
Red grapes

  • Lay out the crostini and spread with a dollop of cream cheese.
  • Take a grape. Cut off the ends and slice horizontally. I found that there was normally 3 – 4 slices per grape (not including the ends). Place a slice on grape on top of each crostini.

CROSTINI WITH PATE AND APPLE, DATE AND WALNUT CHUTNEY 

DSC_0353

Ingredients:

Crostini
Pate (any type you wish)
Apple, date and walnut chutney (recipe to follow)

  • Again lay out the crostini and top with dollop of pate. I have used pate de Champagne. It is a French pork pate which is quite coarse nut mellow and has pieces of pork meat in it so adds some texture alongside the chutney.
  • Top with a little chutney. I have used my Mum’s homemade Christmas chutney. I will post the recipe on the blog as soon as I can get her to write down the exact recipe – a bit of this and a bit of that doesn’t quite work…

It really is that simple. Serve on a board or serving plate and impress your guests.

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. Wonderful post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic?
    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

