The most perfect Bey-day

comment 1
Sweet delights

IMG_1892
In honour of my sister’s birthday and the return of the Mrs Carter show, I made some queen Bey and queen V empire biscuits yesterday.

IMG_1841
Empire biscuits may seem like a strange choice but I love these as a centre piece and alternative to a cake or cupcakes. People can have their own individual biscuit and you can spell out a nice message or make great decorations to go on the biscuits. When you put them all together, they look rather impressive. I made great biscuits for father’s day which I will share in June. It is the versatility which makes them so great and they taste so buttery and delicious.

DSC_1007

DSC_1013
The bees took a little bit of effort but look so cute. For the crowns, I used a mould then sprayed them with a gold shimmer spray and topped them with some coloured icing to make the jewels. I find it a good tactic to have a few standout decorations and then fill the rest of the biscuits with easier decorations like hearts or letters. You still get the same effect and it makes life a lot easier.

IMG_1824
You can make letters and hearts using coloured ready to roll icing. Simply use cookie cutters to cut whichever letters and shapes you want and then stick them on to the biscuits whilst the icing is still drying. If you find the ready to roll icing is sticking to the worktop, dust the worktop with a little icing sugar. Once you have stuck the cut-out onto the biscuit, wet your finger with a little water and run it over the icing to remove any residue icing powder and make the colour pop. It is delicate work but the end result makes it worth it.

I will upload the recipe soon but wanted to share the pictures for now. As for Beyonce: Flawless.

1781907_10153911251230601_1756484065_n

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Ryder Cup biscuits | Isabelita's Larder

Leave a Reply

