Creme egg brownies

comment 1
Sweet delights

DSC_0106

I recently saw Eric Lanlard had created a recipe for a creme egg brownie on the creme egg Facebook page and was instantly drawn to it. However, when I saw the picture and recipe, it wasn’t quite the traditional brownie I had imagined. It includes coffee and looks to have a chocolatey sauce which I am sure is lovely but probably won’t hold up too well at the bake sale I am making the cake for.

It made me think though so I have taken the concept and combined my age-old chocolate brownie mixture and topped it with creme eggs. Ordinarily I would add pieces of chopped chocolate to the brownie mixture before cooking but I have omitted these to prevent a complete chocolate overload. The creme egg topping is amazing. Parts of the chocolate egg crisp up at the edges which creates a nice bite. The delicious cadbury’s chocolate tastes velvety and the creme egg centre hardens when it cools creating a fondant-like crunch. This all works fantastically well against the rich fudgy gooey brownie.

DSC_0177

As I have said, I am making these for a bake sale so I have decided to top half of the brownie with full sized creme eggs and the other half with chopped mini creme eggs. This means that the brownie can be cut into large pieces (topped with the full size creme eggs) and smaller pieces (topped with the mini creme eggs). More bang for your buck!

CREME EGG BROWNIES

DSC_0096

Ingredients:

185g dark chocolate, chopped
185g unsalted butter, diced into cubes
85g plain flour
40g cocoa powder
3 eggs
225g golden caster sugar
6 large creme eggs or 3 packets mini creme eggs

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and line a 23 cm baking tray with greaseproof paper.
  • Melt the dark chocolate and butter in a bowl over a pot of simmering water. Set to one side and allow to cool at room temperature.
  • Sift the flour and cocoa into a bowl.
  • Next whisk together the eggs and sugar until they are light and have doubled in size. This will take about 3 – 5 minutes. The egg mixture should look like a milkshake when it is ready. Fold in the cooled chocolate and butter mixture. Then sift the flour and cocoa again into wet ingredients and fold until combined. You want to keep as much air as possible in the brownie so fold gently. The mixture will be nice and glossy at this stage.
  • Place the mixture in the baking tray and then put in the over for 15 – 20 minutes. I tend to bake the brownie for pretty much the full 20 minutes but the cooking time will depend on your own oven. The mixture should be crisp on the outside but still gooey inside.

DSC_1047

  • Once the brownie has been baked, take the creme eggs out of the fridge and cut in half. Then place on top of the brownie roughly equidistant apart. If you are using the mini creme eggs, half some eggs and quarter the others and scatter on top. Place the brownie back in the oven for about 10 minutes.
  • Take the brownie out of the oven and allow to cool before cutting into slices.

Be sure to taste a bit before it cools entirely!

DSC_0130

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Reliving the dream – creme egg brownies | Isabelita's Larder

Leave a Reply

