Longing for a chocolate brownie…

comment 1
Sweet delights / Thoughts

DSC_1219-5

For those of you who know me well, I am the ultimate chocoholic! I love chocolate. I would eat it every minute of the day if I could. If there is ever any chocolate in the house, it will be finished within 3 minutes (and that’s being generous), no matter how large or small it is. As a result, I cannot buy chocolate for the house. My boyfriend cannot understand this at all.

My sister, however, fully understands this issue which made me think, why do women fall victim to chocoholism so much more than men?

Eating chocolate is an incredibly pleasurable experience from the creaminess and smoothness of the chocolate in your mouth to the sweet taste. Even the smell gets you as you open the packet. It is apparently women’s heightened sense of smell that means they have a more enjoyable experience when eating chocolate but that can’t be the reason for the cravings.

Of course, there are the usual explanations that chocolate helps balance out women’s hormones but surely I can’t be so hormonal that I crave chocolate every second of the day? (Don’t ask my boyfriend to answer that question!!)

There is also the theory that because chocolate is perceived as an unhealthy food, we try to avoid it and in doing so we crave it so much more because it is forbidden. This probably has a bit more truth in it and is in fact the very reason that I started writing this post. I am thinking about chocolate so much because I can’t have it! Yes, I am in the midst of my emergency holiday diet. I am going to Spain on Tuesday so no chocolate for me. Nothing quite like being in a bikini to make you resist sugar and carbs.

Anyway, I have come to the realisation that no matter how many theories and explanations there are out there, nothing will save me from the love of chocolate. Willpower is the only weapon I have and I only really have that in emergency crash-diet-inducing situations like now.

I guess I will just have to look at these pictures from the weekend for now. The thought of sunbathing in Spain is helping too!

DSC_1262-5

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The smallest chocolate factory in the world | Isabelita's Larder

Leave a Reply

