Out and about: The Harwood Arms, Fulham

Leave a comment
Out and about: Restaurants / Pub food

IMG_4009-5

This is a different Sunday pub food post. There are no recipes. I just have the absolute joy of sharing the best Sunday roast I have ever had with you.

The Harwood Arms is a michelin star pub in Fulham. We went for lunch last year and I didn’t think it could get any better but it most certainly did. It is one of my favourite restaurants in London. The food is incredible as are the drinks. You only need to look at the picture above to get a sense of just how great it is.

This time we went on a Sunday and to our delight they were serving

huge platters of roasts. These are for a minimum of two people but you can order an individual meal from the menu if you prefer. The beef roast which we had was on the specials menu or you could have Irish Sika deer with mushrooms, crispy garlic potatoes and shallots on the main menu. Pretty much every table in the restaurant had ordered a roast platter and when we saw the deer arrive at another table, although it looked delicious, we were happy with our choice.

The beef was ah-mazing!! It arrived  on a huge wooden board. There was a mountain of perfectly cooked fore rib which was topped with the most delicious smoked bone marrow which melted like butter. It was heavenly. There was rump which was topped with walnuts. It was so tender and just flaked into pieces. The yorkshire pudding was without a doubt one of the nicest things I have ever tasted. It was filled with all the little bits of meat which had fallen off and had then been slow cooked in the gravy so were the most flavourful and delicious little delights you could ever imagine. It really was the tastiest thing ever.

IMG_4011-5

The meat was served with the perfect roast potatoes. As you can see, they were so crispy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. Ideal for soaking up the most flavourful meat gravy I have ever tasted. The spring greens were coated in a little butter for extra-umptiousness. There was also cauliflower cheese. I love cauliflower cheese. I always have and always will. My gran loves telling me that when I was about 7 or 8 and used to help her cook Sunday lunch every week after church, she would ask me to grate the cheese for the cheese sauce and when she came back only half the cheese was left because I had eaten the other half! My Mum always used to make cauliflower cheese as part of her Sunday roast as well and it was my second favourite bit (yorkshire puddings obviously always took the top spot!). My sister and I used to love scraping the pot with the leftover cheese sauce once we had finished our meal. This one was equally as good. There is nothing better than getting a bit of beef, gravy, potato and cauliflower cheese on your fork! We were also given a little pot of horseradish cream. I love horseradish with beef and it was nice and light but cut across the rich gravy.

I think it is clear to see why I have described this as the best Sunday roast I have ever had! Nothing returned to the kitchen from our table.

IMG_4014-5

As you probably know, I have the ultimate sweet-tooth so when food is as good as that, I have to have a dessert. We chose the raspberry doughnuts with Sambrook’s “chocolate” malt and cream. The doughnuts were light and soft and filled with raspberry jelly. They were coated in crunchy sugar and the chocolate malt which, from what I have read, seems to be chocolate malted barley which Sambrook’s, a brewery in Battersea, use to flavour and colour their beer. It didn’t have the distinctly chocolate flavour which I was expecting but did cut through the sweetness of the sugar. The cream was slightly runny which made for a delicious little bite. They didn’t last long!

IMG_4016-5

It really was a great meal. There were lots of tables with big groups of friends and they just ordered a few big roast platters to share. I think it is a great way to eat especially with a crowd. There is so much food, they certainly don’t skimp on the meat or veg and you have all the time in the world to eat it.

One final note about the wines. They were delicious. To start with I had a glass of English sparkling wine. Annoyingly, I didn’t take a note of the name and I now can’t find it online. It was lovely though. It had a very light sparkle and was quite sweet so was a great start to the meal especially on a hot day. The red wine was the real star though. It was Le Mas de l’Ecriture – Les Pensees and described as a summer wine. It was perfect and exactly that, a red wine perfect for a summer’s day. We prefer red wine especially when have beef but when it is hot outside, it can feel too heavy. This was anything but. It still had a deep flavour but was in no way claggy. It was the perfect accompaniment to the perfect meal!

IMG_4017-5

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

