Happy Halloween!

comments 2
Special Occasions / Sweet delights

I just wanted to quickly share this red velvet Halloween cake adorned with severed fingers dripping in gory blood! The cake is delicious – the sponge is moist, rich and chocolately, the cream cheese icing is smooth with speckles of tasty orange zest and the white chocolate severed fingers add an extra bit of creamy sweetness. It is so good!

DSC_0982-8

I’m not a big fan of Halloween but I do love making Halloween cakes. There are so many great things you can make and this cake is a striking centrepiece. I decided to add some extra decorations using black fondant icing but you could easily stop with the pile of bloody fingers.

DSC_0986-9

I am the first person to admit that red velvet cakes aren’t a walk in the park. The absolute key is getting the correct red food colouring and it has taken me so many attempts to get there. In fact, I used an extra strong paste for this one and in all honesty I probably added a bit too much so the colour is a little darker than I would have wanted but that’s life. Unfortunately, you don’t know what it is going to turn out like until you have made it and there is nothing you can do by that point. It really is trial and error and if it doesn’t work out, don’t worry about it. The cake will still taste wonderful and you can just pretend it was always meant to be a plain chocolate cake! Remember it is better to have a great tasting cake that isn’t quite the right colour than a perfectly red cake which tastes horrid.

DSC_0972-6

I am obsessed with these fingers. They look brilliant and are so easy to make. Simply take Cadbury’s white chocolate fingers and cut one end off  to create a straight edge. Melt a little white chocolate and add a few drops of red food colouring. Dip the straight end into the chocolate and then place on some greaseproof paper to harden. Take a small paint brush and paint a little chocolate at the other end of the finger to create the nails. These are great for decorating cakes or would be perfect laid out at a Halloween party just as they are. You could even cut each finger in half before dipping in the red chocolate and have them sticking out of halloween cupcakes.

Happy Halloween!

DSC_0977-7

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

2 Comments

  1. m wallace says

    Hi ….love the cake…you have a great imagination…love the fingers they are so life like .I was at the Good Food cake bake in Islington London. .your cake is fantastic it completes with the Halloween cakes on display at the show well done
    Mx

    • Thanks for your lovely comment! So glad you like it. I think the fingers would make a great addition to any Halloween party. I hope you enjoyed the show in Islington!

Leave a Reply

