Asian burgers

Leave a comment
Burgers / Dinners / Entertaining / Lunches / Pub food / Salads

Tomorrow is the big day – exam time! I have been off on Thursday and Friday on study leave and in between reading my notes, I have been watching a lot of cooking programmes. I am always fascinated by Jamie Oliver’s 30 minute meals programme and I have been able to enjoy the delights of 15 minute meals over the last few days as well. I saw him make Asian burgers with salad and noodles. I loved the look of them and thought I would make my own version. It was an absolute joy to have some time away from the books!

Steamed buns have been a recent craze and I thought they would be nice with these burgers rather than a bread roll. After all you can’t make Asian inspired burgers and serve them in a sugary American burger bun! I used this recipe for the steamed buns. It seems to be a recipe that comes up a lot so I just thought I would give it a go. It was the first time I made these and I can’t say it was a walk in the park. I had difficulties with getting the dough to rise because it was quite cold but that did mean I discovered a great trick – I put the covered dough in the top shelf of the oven and put a baking tray with hot water at the bottom. This created a warm moist environment and helped the dough rise so good to know for the future. Just remember not to turn the oven on. I made slightly larger buns than the recipe so split each roll of 4 into 3 to make 12 buns. Just a note, I couldn’t find milk powder so left it out. If and when I ever find milk powder and decide to make these again, I will let you know if it makes a difference.

This really is such a delightful meal. It is really easy but so flavourful. The beef and black bean burgers are rich and and covered in a sticky glaze. The buns are soft and light and the crunchy, zingy salad acts like a sweet and sour pickle which is great with the caramelised burgers. Just writing about them makes me want them again!

Since we are getting into the festive season, I think these would be fab served at a party.

BEEF AND BLACK BEAN BURGERS WITH STEAMED BUNS AND FRESH CRUNCHY SALAD

DSC_0994-5

Ingredients:

For the burgers:
400g lean beef mince
75ml black bean sauce
1 red chilli, finely diced
Small bunch coriander, finely diced (I used mostly the stalks and kept more of the leaves for the salad)
2 tablespoons runny honey
1 – 2 tablespoons sesame seeds
1 tablespoon oil
Salt and pepper

For the salad:
2 tins (225g each) sliced water chestnuts, drained
4 spring onions, sliced
1 red chilli, thinly sliced
Small bunch coriander, roughly chopped
3/4 inch piece ginger, grated
1 lime, juice only
3 tablespoons soy sauce

Method:

You can make the buns early and then pop them in the steamer again for 2 – 3 minutes to re-heat. You can also have all of the ingredients for the salad in a large bowl and then simply dress before serving.

DSC_0999-5

For the burgers:

  • Mix together the mince, black bean sauce, chilli, coriander and a good sprinkle of salt and pepper. Shape into 9 small patties.
  • Heat a pan with oil until the pan is really hot. Add the beef patties. They should sizzle straight away. Cook for 2 – 3 minutes on each side.
  • Once the patties are cooked, add the honey to the pan and sprinkle the sesame seeds on top. Shake the burgers around in the pan to make sure they soak up the lovely sweet glaze. Flip the burgers after 30 seconds to allow the other side to pick up the sesame glaze. Take off the heat.

DSC_1017-5

For the salad:

  • Place the water chestnuts, spring onions, red chilli and coriander in a large bowl.
  • Mix together the lime juice, soy sauce and ginger. Pour over the salad and mix well.

To assemble:

  • Open the buns. You may need a knife to help but be careful because they will be quite hot. Place a burger in the middle and spoon on some of the lovely crunchy salad along with a little bit of the zingy dressing.
  • Serve with some extra salad.

As you can gather, this is so easy to make. It will take a little more the 15 minutes (especially if you make the buns) but they are de-licious!

The Author

I am a food lover with a passion for cooking and entertaining inspired by two very special grandmothers and a fabulous mum. I recently moved to London which has provided a plethora of new places, cultures and fascinations to stir up some underlying creativity. My hope is to share some cooking and entertaining ideas which I like and others seem to like too. I will also throw in the odd bit of Scottish flare to make sure I maintain my true braveheart roots. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

